Simple Fire View larger

Simple Fire


New product

Selected Short Stories by George Mackay Brown.

A new selected short story collection, published in 2021 to celebrate the poet's centenary year.

Edited by Malachy Tallack.

More details

£ 12.99

More info

George Mackay Brown wrote fiction with the humility and creative latitude of someone who was never completely certain that the form was up to the job. He wrote fiction that, in its rhythms, in its taut, glinting language, aspired towards poetry. He wrote fiction that, again and again, kindled that 'simple fire' on the page.

One of Scotland's greatest writers, George Mackay Brown (1921-1996) produced a steady stream of fiction throughout his career. Inimitable in his style, his story collections include A Calendar of Love (1967), A Time To Keep (1969) and Hawkfall (1974). In this selection, edited and introduced by Malachy Tallack, Mackay Brown's beloved Orkney is illuminated within his words. The voices of the islands' people and communities, its rhythms and harmonies through time, resound.

27 other products in the same category:

Follow us on Facebook