Hawkfall and other stories View larger

Hawkfall and other stories


New product

This collection of 11 George Mackay Brown short stories, first published in 1974, demonstrates the full range of George Mackay Brown's literary talent.

More details

£ 7.99

More info

George Mackay Brown was steeped in the life and traditions of Orkney, a world set firmly between the sea and the sky, where time has an altogether different nature and significance from the rest of the world. 'In Orkney,' wrote Edwin Muir, 'the lives of living men turn into legend.'

The rich history of the islands - the succession of Neolithic man, Pict, Viking and Scot - leaves its impression upon the life of modern Orkney and is reflected in this finely wrought collection. Mingling past and present, the human and the spiritual, George Mackay Brown brings together both the modern islanders and the Orcadians of centuries past, for the same lineaments are discernible in both.

'Hawkfall', the central story, traces the vicissitudes, violence and hypocrisies which recur over many generations; in 'The Drowned Rose', the ghosts of dead lovers, still in love with the things of this world, mix with the living, art and life. All stories in this glorious collection are richly entertaining, poignant and moving, their universal themes realised in the context of their unique island setting.


No customer reviews for the moment.

Write a review

23 other products in the same category:

Follow us on Facebook