A Calendar of Love and other stories View larger

A Calendar of Love and other stories


New product

The first collection of short stories that George Mackay Brown had published.

More details

£ 7.99

More info

By George Mackay Brown

The first collection of stories that George Mackay Brown published.

This title includes the themes the author would develop over his career - an obsession with his home Orkney, its dark and violent Viking past, the cycle of the seasons, and the struggle of its inhabitants.

The characters of these stories - the fishermen, the crofters, the farmers and the wild tinkers - are all struggling to live their lives and find their identities in a harsh habitat and a cruel age. The stories in this collection share the same melancholy tone and sense of the ceaseless renewal made possible by the natural cycle.

The volume includes 14 stories arising from both ancient and modern life in Orkney. Fishermen, crofters, farmers, tinkers and heavy drinkers live the hard lives recreated here with spare and unforced eloquence.


No customer reviews for the moment.

Write a review

25 other products in the same category:

Follow us on Facebook