• Kirkwall
  • Kirkwall Airport
  • Stromness
  • North Ronaldsay
  • South Ronaldsay

Cruise Arrivals

Cookie Disclaimer
The Orcadian uses cookies and similar technologies on its website. By continuing your browsing after being presented with the cookie information you consent to such use.
The Orcadian uses cookies. By further browsing you concent to such use.

New MSYPs elected

Hope Laing and Maya Tams-Gray have been elected as the new MSYPs for Orkney.

Two new young representatives from Orkney have been elected to the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP), this afternoon.

Kirkwall Grammar School pupil, Maya Tams-Gray (16) and Stromness Academy pupil Hope Laing (15) said they were “delighted” to have been elected against tough competition from an all-female shortlist — running alongside Rachel Evans, Emma Grant and Elizabeth Gorn.

Young folk from across the county, aged 12-25, took to the polls over the past couple of weeks to vote in the elections.

Due to attend their first sitting of the SYP in June, Orkney’s new MSYPs say they are looking forward to representing the county on issues such as mental health, transport, and young people’s rights.

Latest Video

Latest Photos