• Kirkwall
  • Kirkwall Airport
  • Stromness
  • North Ronaldsay
  • South Ronaldsay

Cruise Arrivals

Cookie Disclaimer
The Orcadian uses cookies and similar technologies on its website. By continuing your browsing after being presented with the cookie information you consent to such use.
The Orcadian uses cookies. By further browsing you concent to such use.

Areas of Scotland to enter Level Four restrictions

The First Minister acknowledged this “will be tough”

Around two million Scots are announced to be heading into Level Four — the highest level — of Scotland’s COVID-19 level system, confirmed by First Minister Nicola Sturgeon.

This will see only essential shops allowed to open, with further restrictions being placed upon the hospitality industry.

The First Minister revealed that 11 councils, including Glasgow, will move from Level Three to Level Four by the end of the week.

The rules will be imposed in Glasgow city, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, Stirling and West Lothian.

The First Minister said: “Level Four is intended to be short and sharp. 

“And in this situation, it is specifically intended to have an impact in advance of Christmas and the most challenging winter period.”

Also, East Lothian and Midlothian will be moving from Level Three to Level Two, meaning pubs and restaurants can open, but alcohol can only be sold indoors with main meals. Outdoor drinking will be permitted.

Latest Video