Six candidates standing for General Election

Six candidates have put their names forward to stand for the Orkney and Shetland constituency in next month’s UK Parliamentary Election.

The deadline for nominations for the poll closed at 4pm this afternoon, Thursday.

The candidates whose names will appear on the ballot paper on polling day are:

  • Robina Rendall Barton – Scottish Labour Party
  • Miriam Brett – Scottish National Party
  • Alistair Carmichael – Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Jamie Halcro Johnston – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Stuart Hill – Independent
  • Robert Smith – UK Independence Party

Polling day is on Thursday, June 8.