Orkney Sports Awards shortlist announced

OrkneySportsAwardsLS1CThe nominees have been announced for the 2015 Orkney Sports Awards, and with a record number of nominations submitted, the Awards are sure to be a big hit!

In total, over 500 nominations were received for individuals, teams and volunteers from across the county before representatives from various organisations knowledgeable on sport in Orkney formed a panel that reviewed each nomination before deciding on the finalists.

The event takes place on Friday, 22 January 2016 at Kirkwall Grammar School and Sports Centre and each finalist under the nine categories will be invited to the ceremony with winners being announced at the awards evening.

Councillor Harvey Johnston, chair of the Education, Leisure and Housing committee, said: “Every person that has dedicated his or herself to their sport deserves to be acknowledged. It is great to see just how many names were put forward and how many people throughout Orkney want to show their support.

“There have been a considerable number of worthy athletes, teams and individuals involved in sport in 2015, some of the decisions were very difficult to make. Particularly for the ‘Volunteer of the Year’ award – there were so many nominees to choose from that the panel decided to have four candidates.

“It’s been almost a decade since this event has taken place so this is very exciting. It’s going to be a great night!”

The event is free to the public but there are a limited number of seats. Tickets will be available to pick-up from the Orcadian Bookshop in Kirkwall from Saturday, 9 January to Wednesday, January 13. Tickets can also be obtained by emailing active-schools@orkney.gov.uk.

The finalists for the Orkney Sports Awards 2015 are:

Sportsperson of the Year

Scott Rendall — Rugby

Bobby Spence — Shooting

Maggie Tait — Fencing

Young Sportsperson of the Year

Thora Cant — Javelin

Amy Golder — Kickboxing

Taylah Spence — Netball and Athletics

Team of the Year

Orkney Hockey Club

Orkney Rugby Football Club

Small Bore Rifle Island Games Team

Young Team of the Year

Junior Inter-County Team

Under-13 Orkney Netball Team

Under-18 Orkney/Caithness Rugby Team

Coach of the Year

Huw Davies — Orkney RFC coach

Graham & Ali Johnston — Orkney Hockey team coaches

Ali Macphail — Orkney Athletic Club coach

Volunteer of the Year

Jim Scollie — Darts

Stuart Louttit — Bowls

Roddy Mackay — Orkney Youth Development Group

Helen Rothnie — Swimming

Young Volunteer of the Year (under-25)

Ryan Arcus — Rugby

Ella Spence — Climbing

Leah Thomson — Netball

School Sports Volunteer of the Year

Mark Berry – Stromness Academy (Volleyball and Badminton)

Andrew Davis – Kirkwall Grammar School (Basketball)

Chloe Flett – Firth Primary School (Netball)

Official of the Year

Derek Allan – Swimming

Ian Gibson — Swimming

Fraser Murray — Athletics